When you send people passwords and private links via email or chat, there are copies of that information stored in many places. If you use a one-time URI instead, the information persists for a single viewing which means it can't be read by someone else later. This allows you to send sensitive information in a safe way knowing it's seen by one person only. Imagine hearing "This message will self destruct!" right after the recipient has loaded it.